14 December 2017

Writ on Water is proud to announce the release of 'A Charcoal Night.'  This EP consists of Wicker in the original arrangement, a studio recording of Windsor (which had originally been intended as a track on 'The Greyest Day') and four new songs.  It is available from iTunes, Amazon and most other online digital music outlets.

10 November 2014

Originally intended as the follow-up to 'Sylph' and 20 years after its originally intended release date, 'The Greyest Day' will be available on November 25, 2014.  We would like to thank Matt Akery, Paolo Licciardi, Philip Keller, Graham Dickey, Brian Hasselbeck and our spouses for their tremendous work, performances, help and/or support with this project.  More details to follow...

23 July 2014

Announcing the launch of the new along with the availability of the complete Writ on Water catalogue at bandcamp, as well as the "Music" tab on our Facebook page.

23 April 2011

Two (relatively) new tracks, Haunt and Our Mingled Wires—both of which were recorded for 2010 short film soundtracks—are available for streaming/listening on the Myspace player.

7 October 2009

A new interview, including some information on upcoming projects, is available online courtesy of Brax the Alien Rocker. Meanwhile, Writ on Water is busy in studio (as noted in the interview) while activities related to live performance have been temporarily placed on hold.

23 June 2009

In celebration of Midsummer, as well as having reached 10,000 plays on our Myspace page (thank you for listening), we have uploaded an extended mix of A Midsummer Wish to the Myspace playlist. We are continuing rehearsals in preparation for some live appearances later this year, but there isn’t much more to report at this time. Check back for more information in the coming months.

22 March 2009

We are currently in the process of shaking off many layers of dust and have begun rehearsing for performances later this year. More information on the new lineup and live dates will be forthcoming. We might also direct you to a very nice review of the 2008 releases that has just appeared among the Terrascope Rumbles and can be read here. Finally, we have rearranged our Links page a bit to add various interviews/features, some of which are also referenced below.

7 February 2009

A Wingless King is now available from iTunes, in addition to Rhapsody, Amazon MP3s and eMusic. Also, U.K. online magazine Crumbs in the Butter has recently published an interview/feature on Writ on Water which can be read here. Check back for information regarding 2009 live dates.

12 December 2008

The Ancestral Echo and Wunderzeit! EPs are available now from iTunes. The EPs are also available online via Rhapsody, Amazon MP3s and eMusic.

25 November 2008

The Ancestral Echo and Wunderzeit! EPs are available now (click here to order). The EPs will also be available for download shortly via iTunes, Rhapsody, Amazon MP3s and eMusic—check back for more details. You can also find streaming audio from these EPs and other releases at We are most appreciative of Jon Sonnenberg and the Brothers Jackson for their contributions to these projects.

13 November 2008

Our two new EPs—Ancestral Echo and Wunderzeit!—are set for release on 11/25. In advance of the releases, ‘Liquid’ (Track 2 from AE) has been uploaded to the Myspace page. Please give it a listen and let us know what you think. Special thanks to Archie and Sam Jackson for their percussive contributions on the EPs, including Archie's drumming on ‘Liquid.’

21 October 2008

A special internet-only Travelogue mix of ‘Wondertime’ is available now for streaming and free download at the Myspace page. This track is being released in advance of the upcoming EP releases set for next month, which will include two additional Travelogue remixes.

15 October 2008

An interview with Daniel and Jeff has been published in the inaugural issue of Down the Line Magazine, which can be read here. Enjoy!

28 September 2008

The Ancestral Echo and Wunderzeit EPs are nearly finished, the latter of which will include among its 7 tracks two remixes from A Wingless King prepared by Jon Sonnenberg. The single CD containing both EPs should be available in November. Please check back for the release date here and at the Myspace page in the near future.

12 July 2008

We are continuing to work on both the Ancestral Echo and Wunderzeit EPs, and the release dates have been pushed back from the original June/July plan. We still expect to have them finished and ready for release by early Autumn of 2008.

15 May 2008

The re-issue of The Greyest Day Sessions: 1992 – 1994 is now available via The Official Writ on Water Store. This album was previously released on cassette via mail order and later from in 1999.

13 April 2008

Individual MP3 downloads are now available via Amazon.

29 February 2008

Leap Day 2008 features the re-launch of, along with the release of A Wingless King and the re-release of Sylph and Pelléas.