You are here

A Charcoal Night (2017)


All songs composed by Jeff MacKey except “Twenty-Three” by Daniel Johnson & Jeff MacKey.
Recorded and produced by Writ on Water
Mastered by Paolo Licciardi
Cover photography by Nikki Johnson

Jeff MacKey: vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, drum programming
Daniel Johnson: bass, guitars, voice
Matt Akery: drums

Band Notes: 

Writ on Water returns with ‘A Charcoal Night,’ an EP that includes Wicker in its original arrangement, a studio recording of Windsor (which had originally been demoed for ‘The Greyest Day’) and 4 new tracks.

January 2018 - Down the Line Magazine

Despite the time between releases, Writ on Water never seems to lose a step. They can still write (and record) moody, ethereal alternative rock. For example, the first new track, “Twenty-Three,” starts off with a two minute instrumental intro full of intricate interplay between instruments that oozes more atmosphere and feeling than many bands do in an entire album.